Stoned by Gautam Mayenkar Book Review

Stoned by Gautam Mayenkar

My Ratings- 3/5 stars

The tagline of the story attracted me the most. It says “The untold stories of CO-Weed-20” that seemed unique and so as the blurb so I had to pick it up. I will discuss the striking features of the book. First the one thing that fascinated me the most is the reverse order of the chapter number. That made me curious. The next thing is all the chapters are starting with “The one with” like the friends series. So I was curious to read the book. The first chapter is “The one with time machine”. The protagonist Amar is the man from futures who is narrating the story into voice of data recorder of time machine. He travelled back in time. Mohit Saxena is his friend. He studied in IIT Bombay and he built time machine in his final year project. Amar is stuck in time machine while Mohit is CO-Weed-20 positive and gone to sleep permanently. Now from that point story started. Read the book to unfold further. I liked the plot. Initially I felt it’s the regular plot but then twists and turns started and that kept on adding. It was quite interesting read. I liked the movie references such as Groot from Guardian of the Galaxy and Shehenshah. I liked how author has started the story simple then he wove around more complex twists and then again he ended with punch. That makes it perfect. The language of the book is lucid. It takes a time to enter in the story and completely understand the plot. The narration style of the author is captivating. Overall good one. Quite a different read.

Leave a comment